CRCA Announces 2014 Coach of the Year Awards

June 9, 2014

The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association is pleased to announce the winners of its National Coach of the Year Awards. These awards are voted on by the membership of the CRCA and are intended to recognize head coaches whose teams have had outstanding success throughout the current season and who have demonstrated a high level of professionalism and integrity as a coach. The DI staff of the year is intended to recognize a staff who has had a significant impact on the performance of their team, has shown outstanding commitment to their coach and has demonstrated a high level of professionalism and integrity as a group. Below are the names of the winners of the CRCA National Coach of the Year awards.

Division I

Head Coach: Stephen Peterson - Indiana University

Completing his 11th year at the helm of Indiana Women's Rowing, Coach Peterson led his team to a first ever team at-large bid to the NCAA championships.  Indiana then went on to finish 11th as a team, finishing 10th in the Varsity 8, 14th in the Second Varsity 8, and 9th in the Varsity 4.  Peterson also lead Indiana Rowing to the programs highest Big Tean finish in program history earlier this spring as well.  At Big Ten's the Varsity 8 and Second Varsity 8 medaled in their events for the first time in program history.


Staff: Indiana University

The Hoosiers' staff is made up of Assistant Coaches Sheila Rinozzi, Kate Sweeney, Diretor of Equipment and Operations Stefan Evano, and Volunteer coach Bonnie Chilibeck.  Indiana's staff led the Hoosiers' to its first NCAA Championships berth where IU finished 11th overall.  Indiana spent most of the season ranked No. 13 in the CRCA/USRowing Coaches poll.  The Hoosiers finished fourth at the Big Ten Championships, the programs best finish at the championships.

Division II

Head Coach: Robin Meiggs - Humboldt State University

Completing her 20th year at the helm of Humboldt State Women's Crew, Coach Meiggs led the Lumberjacks their second team championship in the last three years at the NCAA Rowing Championships this past May, winning the varsity 8 and finishing third in the varsity 4 event at the championship. 

Division III

Head Coach: Wesley Ng - Trinity College

Completing his 8th year as head women's rowing coach at Trinity, Coach Ng led the Bantams to history, capturing the teams first ever NCAA Division III National Championship, winning the varsity 8 and finishing second in the second varsity eight. 


Head Coach: Lou Berl - Harvard University

Completing her 1st year as the head lightweight coach at Radcliffe, Coach Berl led her team to an IRA National title in the lighweight 8 earlier this June.  The national championship is the seventh overall for Radcliffe lightweights and first since 1997.

Back to Previous Page
The CRCA exists to unify collegiate women's rowing coaches. More Info
July 11 to July 12, 2013
Held in Cherry Hill, NJ